Wisap

C3 Thermo-Koagulator

How design helps save lives

Overview

There is an urgent need worldwide for a simple treatment for cervical cancer. Unlike cryotherapy, where tissue is removed in a cold state, thermocoagulation uses selectively applied heat to destroy malignant tissue.

The Challenge

Cervical cancer is the third most common cancer in women. Although it can now be combated in industrialised countries across the board, the situation is far more dramatic in developing countries. There, around 250,000 women die of the tumour every year. In addition to a vaccination and new methods of early detection, the innovative treatment by coagulation also creates optimism. A simple and safe device is needed that can not only be operated by doctors but also by nurses. One that can also be used without any problems in simply equipped health care facilities, with the aim of meeting the requirements of maximum effectiveness as well as a high level of patient protection.

The niche provider WISAP specialises in such minimally invasive medical products and entrusted Eckstein Design with the design concept – it was developed from scratch.

The Result

In the future, treating cervical cancer can be done in just 30 seconds thanks to the innovative C3 thermocoagulation probe. Unlike cryotherapy, where tissue is removed in a cold state, thermocoagulation uses selectively applied heat to destroy malignant tissue. The dead tissue is rejected by the body and the tumour is eliminated. The probe is designed with a 12V connection so that even in secluded areas it can operate fully with the help of a rechargeable battery. Its central storage option and integrated exchangeable electrodes save valuable treatment time.

Design

The coagulation probe is convincing due to its simple usability and sensitive design. Operating with the medical hand-held device, which removes precancerous lesions with heat rays (approx. 100˚C), only requires local anaesthesia thanks to the unique heat protection. The use of smooth surfaces and hygienic materials conveys the character of western medical devices.

Ergonomics

WISAP C3 allows for surprisingly precise work, which is supported by the LED that illuminates the operating area in a clearly visible way. In addition, the risk of burns during insertion is minimised by the new heat slider, which ensures the best possible protection for the patient. With the pull of a finger, the protective sheathing of the hot probe can be removed after insertion, allowing the probe to be used without a barrier. Handling ergonomics and viewing angle are increased via the modern slim-line design.

Design Thinking

The C3 probe has been developed down to the smallest detail through many studies, evaluative research tests and an HCS (human centred strategy). Thus, in collaboration with usability and clinical experts from WISAP, iterative parameters were determined that were necessary for the precise handling of the C3.

We develop advanced products for a changing world, from advanced technology and medical devices to measuring instruments and consumer products.

Design

The most loving design with many practical details. Small features often have a big impact on its daily user experience ….. After listening carefully to the users, we have introduced details that change the workflow. Since their hands often have little free space, we have added several practical features, such as the protective slider, or the pinpoint position light. C3 offers surprisingly precise work and protection for the patient. Its central storage option and integrated exchangeable electrodes save time and make working fun. When it comes to medical products, the focus is on ergonomics, ease of use and hygiene. The design must first and foremost fulfil these criteria and create confidence in the product. With faster positioning and greater certainty of results, WISAP C3 combines the efficiency and precision that a quality product demands today.

Start your design success project now!

More projects

emtec

emtec Qonos

User Interface for Heart-Lung Machines
Brainlab

Brainlab ExacTrac Dynamic

A new dimension of design for radiotherapy
SIMEON Medical

Sim.MOVE 800

One-for-all solutions in the operating theatre
3M

3M Scotchbond + 3M RelyX

Dental luting composite and adhesive
Robotise

Robotise JEEVES

The hotel experience of the future is already being delivered today
single.php

Wisap

C3 Thermo-Koagulator

Wie Design dazu beiträgt, Leben zu retten

Overview

Weltweit gibt es eine dringende Notwendigkeit für eine simple Behandlung von Gebärmutterhalskrebs. Im Gegensatz zur Cryotherapie, wo Gewebe im kalten Zustand abgetragen wird, nutzt die Thermokoagulation punktuell eingesetzte Hitze, um bösartiges Gewebe zu zerstören.

Die Herausforderung

Cervical Cancer, Gebärmutterhalskrebs, ist die dritthäufigste Krebsart bei Frauen. Obwohl er sich in Industrieländern inzwischen flächendeckend bekämpfen lässt, so ist die Situation in den Entwicklungsländern weitaus dramatischer. Dort sterben jedes Jahr rund 250.000 Frauen an dem Tumor. Neben einer Impfung und neuen Methoden der Früherkennung sorgt auch die innovative Behandlung durch Koagulation für Optimismus.  Was es dafür brauchte, ist ein einfaches und sicheres Gerät, das nicht nur von Ärzten bedient werden kann, sondern auch von Pflegekräften. Und das problemlos auch in einfach ausgestatteten Gesundheitseinrichtungen einsetzbar ist, mit dem Anspruch den Anforderungen von maximaler Effektivität, sowie hohem Patientenschutz gerecht zu werden.

Der Nischenanbieter WISAP ist auf solche minimalinvasiven Medizinprodukte spezialisiert und vertraute Eckstein Design die gestalterische Konzeption an – sie wurde von Grund auf neu entwickelt.

Das Ergebnis

Die Behandlung von Gebärmutterhalskrebs kann in Zukunft dank der innovativen Thermokoagulations-Sonde C3 in nur 30 Sekunden erledigt werden. Im Gegensatz zur Cryotherapie, wo Gewebe im kalten Zustand abgetragen wird, nutzt die Thermokoagulation punktuell eingesetzte Hitze, um bösartiges Gewebe zu zerstören. Totes Gewebe wird vom Körper abgestoßen, der Tumor ausgeschieden. Die Sonde ist mit einem 12V-Anschluss ausgelegt, damit auch in abgeschiedenen Gebieten der Betrieb mithilfe eines Akkus voll funktionsfähig bleibt. Seine zentrale Ablagemöglichkeit und die integrierten Wechselelektroden sparen wertvolle Behandlungszeit.

Design

Die Koagulationssonde überzeugt durch simple Usability und sensibles Design: Die Operation durch das medizinische Handgerät, das mit Hitzestrahlen (ca. 100˚C) präkanzeröse Läsionen beseitigt, erfordert dank des einzigartigen Hitzeschutzes lediglich eine lokale Betäubung. Durch den Einsatz glatter Oberflächen und hygienischer Materialien wird der Charakter westlicher Medizinprodukte transportiert.

Ergonomie

WISAP C3 erlaubt ein überraschend genaues Arbeiten, was durch die LED unterstützt wird, die den Operationsbereich gut erkennbar ausleuchtet. Außerdem wird die Gefahr von Verbrennungen beim Einführen durch den neuen Hitze-Slider minimiert, der den bestmöglichen Schutz für die Patientin gewährleistet. Mit einem Fingerzug kann die schützende Ummantelung der heißen Sonde nach Einführung entfernt werden, wodurch die Sonde ohne Barriere zum Einsatz kommen kann. Die Handhabungsergonomie und der Sichtwinkel werden über das moderne Slim-Line Design gesteigert.

Designthinking

Die Sonde C3 ist über viele Studien, bewertende Forschungstests und eine HCS, Human Centered Strategie, bis ins kleinste Detail entwickelt worden. Somit wurden in Zusammenarbeit mit Usability- und klinischen Experten von WISAP iterative Parameter bestimmt, die für die präzise Handhabung des C3 erforderlich waren.

Wir entwickeln fortschrittliche Produkte für eine sich verändernde Welt, von zukunftsweisender Technologie und Medizintechnik bis hin zu Messgeräten und Consumer Produkten.

Design

Das liebevollste Design mit vielen praktischen Details. Kleine Funktionen haben oft einen großen Einfluss auf das tägliche Nutzungserlebnis dieses ….. Nachdem wir den Benutzern aufmerksam zugehört haben, haben wir Details eingeführt, die den Arbeitsablauf verändern. Da ihre Hände oft wenig Freiraum haben, haben wir mehrere praktische Features, wie den Schutz-Slider, oder den punktgenaues Positionslicht eingefügt. C3 bietet überraschend genaues arbeiten und Schutz für die Patientin. Seine zentrale Ablagemöglichkeit und die integrierten Wechselelektrode sparen Zeit und machen Spaß bei der Arbeit. Bei medizinischen Produkten stehen Ergonomie, Eindeutigkeit der Handhabung und Hygiene im Vordergrund. Das Design muss in erster Linie diese Kriterien erfüllen und Vertrauen in das Produkt schaffen. Schnelleres Positionieren und höhere Ergebnissicherheit, WISAP C3 vereint die Effizienz und Präzision, die ein Qualitätsprodukt heute fordert.

Starten Sie Ihr Design-
Erfolgsprojekt – jetzt!

Weitere Projekte

Brainlab

Brainlab ExacTrac Dynamic

Neue Design-Dimension für die Strahlentherapie
Simeon

Sim.MOVE 800

Einer für alle Lösungen in OP
3M

3M Scotchbond + 3M RelyX

Dental Befestigungskomposit und Adhäsiv
Robotise

Robotise JEEVES

Das Hotelerlebnis der Zukunft – kommt schon heute aufs Zimmer
single.php